Happy fucking 100 posts and shit, sons!


image

This is a draft that Tyler had been sitting on for a long time. Being the narcissist that I am and because he was writing about something that I did, I’m posting it for him. I really don’t give a shit that it’s unfinished. Maybe this will nudge that perfect bastard to write more.

Yeah, that’s right. Mike Apathy just unknowingly posted the 100th post! Congratulations, brother-in-blog! I’m also happy to learn that The Hamstring has earned just under 100 (91 to be exact) comments, despite the fact that 1/3 of them are from Mike himself I feel it’s a great accomplishment for The Hamstring. It was just about a year ago we were a small start-up blog, and now look at us.

My motivation to write tonight is a direct result of Mike’s work on The String and in his own life. 

I’m not sure if anyone ever lets him know that they’re proud of him. Or if after work, when he comes home with all of his teeth and clean underwear he gets a hug and a pat on the back. That’s all I ever wanted when I was young, was for someone to let me know I was on the right track, and being that Mike and I and both in a way without fathers, it’s only fitting that I step in and let him know that he’s on the right track. Whether or not you (our rearders) are aware of it, Mike hasn’t snorted, smoked or swallowed a drop of drugs (semen, maybe) since whenever he did last, which was a a long time ago if I remember correctly. And that’s fucking awesome. It’s so awesome that I’m going to share the last piece of knowledge that homeboy dropped in my ear with ya’ll tonight. And it goes a little something like this… Hit it! 

Once upon a time not long ago, when people wore tight jeans and they lived like…. never mind all that, actually. So Mike and I are out eating at a local mall, waxing philosophic about life when he says to me with the utmost earnestness that he believed everyone around us was living their lives in deliberate denial of their own existence. 

