TONIGHT!!! Smashing Pumpkins @ The Wiltern (Downtown L.A.) 10/5/11


Friends,

Tonight. Stizzle. Apathy. Pumpkins. Wiltern. Pretending that it’s 1997.

To get into the mood, I’m gonna post a couple live videos I found on YuoTube.

1. Smashing Pumpkins – “I of the Mourning” (Live on Letterman, not sure about the year)

  • Completely epic “later-era” Pumpkins track. I consider everything post-Mellon Collie, later-era. Love this song…the build-up and release at the end gives me chills. Easily one of Billy’s best songs.

2. Smashing Pumpkins – “Mayonnaise” (Live in 2000)

  • Classic, romantic Smashing Pumpkins. Timeless. Mike Apathy plays this on guitar for the CDO when she’s not in the mood for sex. By the time he hits the bridge, her eye makeup is smeared from crying, she’s got her top off and she’s already made him a sandwich for when he’s finished 2 minutes later.

For Tyler, Stizzle, Iha, Jimmy and D’arcy,

This is Mike Apathy signing out.

