Mike’s Friday Music Recommendation: Pissed Jeans Edition


Friends,

I’ve absolutely been loving these guys lately. I own two of their records; Hope For Men and King of Jeans (Hope For Men on vinyl, yeah I’m Indie). They have later-era Black Flag influences, Melvins, even some Nirvana similarities.

By the way, I saw Voodoo Glow Skulls @ The Slidebar in Fullerton last night. It was the first time I’ve seen VGS since 1996. I haven’t skanked since I was a teenager. I haven’t sweated that hard at a show since the old Viva Las Vegas days. I felt like I was 16 again. If you’ve been reading some of my posts lately, you know that I’ve been bitching about feeling old. Well, it turns out that the antidote for early onset fun-atrophy is going to punk rock shows on weeknights by yourself.

A really good band called, Dimerunner, opened up for them as well. Youtube them. I happen to know their drummer personally; they’re great guys, so if you see them playing a club or bar near you, they’ll rock you in your face, Reginald Denny-style.

My apologies for straying off topic, but then again, Friends, you should be expecting it by now.

Enjoy two videos by Pissed Jeans to get a proper jump-off to your weekend. Download the MP3’s if you can. Be sure to play at high volume, with you windows rolled down, so you can be sure to freak out the square community when you cruise down Main tonight on your way to the Emporium.

Pissed Jeans – I Still Got You (Ice Cream)

Pissed Jeans – False Jessi Part 2

For Tyler and a big fat bowl of ice cream,

This is Mike Apathy signing off and hoping you can all feel 16 again at some point or another over the weekend.

